Low Voltage Networks: the new frontier of Energy Transition

The Low Voltage Network, the missing link

LV public distribution networks are neither monitored nor automated. Reinforcements and modernization planning are based on the supposed obsolescence of equipment, theoretical load curves, and basic tools, leading to substantial safety coefficients.

However, they account for 70% of fixed assets and generate 50% of operating costs.

New usages brought by energy transition, such as photovoltaic production, electric vehicles and self-consumption, must be integrated in the operation and planning of LV public distribution networks.

In the same time, the current deployment of smart meters offers the first large scale observation tool for Low Voltage networks. This opens new opportunities that are yet to be explored.

Barriers to the energy transition

Reinforcements planning

Network planning aims to identify constrained or obsolete equipment to reinforce or replace them.

However, traditional planning processes are based on theoretical criteria and use significant safety margins. This method therefore does not allow precise planning of the required investments. As a result:

  • 30% of investments could be avoided by accounting for the real use of the network
  • 30% of poorly supplied customers are not identified

Decentralized production integration

Network design and settings limit the insertion of photovoltaic production to 20 or 30% of the consumed power. Long before this threshold, voltage excursions and inverter disconnections start occurring.

Conventional solutions involve either a long and expensive network reinforcement, either a limitation of the produced power. The consequences include a loss of production, reduced penetration capacity, and delays that cause complaints and degrade the image of the network operator.

Energy efficiency

Non-technical losses, which are spread along low-voltage networks and therefore difficult to detect, represent 1.5 k€ per MV/LV substation each year.

They bring financial losses for the operator, network overloads and equipment damages.

Operating costs

The lack of knowledge of the actual state of low-voltage networks, along with the cartography errors, significantly increase the operating and maintenance costs. As an example, the time required to locate faults and find a recovery scheme is widely impacted by this lack of knowledge.

Odit-e answer

Odit-e is the result of the meeting of electrical distribution experts from Schneider with academic researchers from Grenoble-INP. They all share the same diagnosis and a common vision of the potential solutions.

With forty years of cumulative experience in public distribution markets and six years of research on network modelling, they combine their skills to develop innovative solutions and to help distribution network operators face these new challenges.

Odit-e France
Odit-e España

Theme from Arturo Mondragón

La Basse Tension : nouvelle frontière de la transition énergétique

Le réseau Basse Tension, le chaînon manquant

Les réseaux de distribution publics BT ne sont ni monitorés ni télé-conduits. La planification des renforcements et de la modernisation se fait à partir de l’usure supposée du matériel, de courbes de charge théoriques, et d'outils sommaires, impliquant des coefficients de sécurité importants.

Et pourtant, ils représentent 70% du patrimoine immobilisé et génèrent 50% des couts d’exploitation.

Ils doivent à présent intégrer de nouveaux usages liés à la transition énergétique comme la production Photovoltaïque, les Véhicule électriques et l’autoconsommation.
L’arrivée des compteurs communicants offre de nouvelles opportunités mais les premiers retours d’expérience sont mitigés quand à l’apport pour supporter la gestion et la conduite du réseau.

Les obstacles à la transition énergétique

Planification des renforcements

Les processus classiques de planification aboutissent en général à renforcer ou remplacer des ouvrages jugés sous contrainte ou obsolètes sur des critères théoriques, et avec de larges marges de sécurité.

30% des investissements peuvent être évités en prenant en compte la réalité de l’utilisation du réseau.

Dans le même temps, ces approches théoriques manquent à identifier jusqu’à 30% des points de livraison réellement mal alimentés

Intégration de production décentralisée

La conception et les réglages des réseaux limitent l’insertion de production photovoltaïque à 20 ou 30% de la puissance consommée. Bien avant ce seuil, on commence à subir des excursions de tension et des déconnexions d’onduleurs.

Les solutions classiques passent par un renforcement long et coûteux du réseau, ou par une limitation de la puissance produite. Les conséquences sont une perte de production pour les abonnés, une réduction de la capacité d’accueil, et des délais d’attente qui provoquent des plaintes et une dégradation de l’image du gestionnaire de réseau.

Efficacité énergétique

Les pertes non techniques, difficiles à détecter car réparties de façon diffuse le long des réseaux basse tension, représentent 1,5 k€ par poste MT/BT chaque année.

Elles occasionnent des pertes financières pour le distributeur, des surcharges sur le réseau et une dégradation du matériel.

Coûts d'exploitation

Le manque de connaissance de l’état réel des réseaux Basse Tension et les erreurs de cartographie génèrent des surcoûts d’exploitation et de maintenance importants, en rallongeant les temps nécessaires à la localisation des défauts et à la détermination d’un schéma de reprise.

La réponse Odit-e

Odit-e est née de la rencontre d'experts de la distribution électrique et de chercheurs issus des laboratoires de Grenoble-INP, qui partagent un même diagnostic et une vision commune des solutions à mettre en œuvre.

Forts de quarante années d’expériences cumulées sur les marchés de la distribution publiques, et de six ans de travaux de recherches sur la modélisation de ces réseaux, ils décident d’unir leurs compétences pour développer ensembles des outils logiciels et des solutions, pour aider les gestionnaires des réseaux de distribution à faire face à ces nouveaux challenges.

Odit-e France
Odit-e España

Theme conçu par Arturo Mondragón